Ahjune’s Weblog

Nice Jap Food But With An Attitude Boss

Posted on: November 6, 2008

Yesterday met up with my friend Liping and since we were at Far East Plaza, she suggest a small jap restaurant at level 5

img_7452

Before i start to introduce this place, just a reminder to everyone that this is not a place to sit long and chit chat. Read on and you will know why

The whole place is really quite small. The moment u walked in, you will see a U-shaped counter which can seat about 16 people. Liping told me it’s best if u try to reach early (weekday) at about 6-6.30pm to get a seat. We reach around 6.40pm and manage to get 2 seats =).

I can’t imagine the queue on weekends!

So when you are done, pay up and leave (but that doesn’t mean u need to rush through your meal lah) so other customers can come in (and there’s always a long queue according to my friend & i witness it myself last night)

The moment you are seated, u will be charged $2 per seat and u can choose a drink of your choice (green tea, soft drink or mineral water)

Now let’s see what the both of us had for dinner

page-23

Bottom right picture is the appetizer given to everyone. It’s pretty good leh! =)

And for the main course, the top left pic is what Liping had and it comes with a bowl of hot udon and fruits ($15). I try the salmon sashimi and it’s really good!

For me, i chose the unagi set and it’s one huge whole piece!!! And it comes with a bowl of rice, miso soup & fruits ($15)

I find the portion is generous and price is reasonable. Worth trying if you have not been here before =)

But while i find the food is good, be prepared to face 2 not so smiley uncle (the cook) & auntie (helper??). But this is definitely not a service-oriented restaurant as we don’t pay any gst & service charge.

To the extent that i don’t even dare to laugh too loudly. Haha! But don’t be offended and just enjoy your meal =)  Overall it was still a good experience as i had a good meal with Liping and got to do some catching up with her =)

By the way, try not to come in big group. I saw a lady came in and asked for 4 seats but there was only 2 empty ones. The auntie replied her saying “either u take these 2 seats first or else go out and wait again for 4 seats if u want to sit together”

I will definitely be back again to try out other dishes such as chawanmushi & this hot pot dish. I saw these 2 gals who were sitting beside me having it and it looks really yummy!! =)

  • Wasabi Tei
  • #05-70 Far East Plaza
6 Responses to "Nice Jap Food But With An Attitude Boss"

hey gal….agree that the boss is super attitude….but i alwiz go back for his salmon sashimi….very fresh and nice….the cod fish soup in clay pot is really yummy….:)

Yup…. The salmon sashimi is really good!! =) And now u mention the cod fish claypot soup makes me hungry.

I can still rem how it looks like coz it looks really gd & i can see it’s really one of the popular dish in the restaurant!

Wah so nice! haha thanks for the recommendation! I’ll go try them next time! By the way, I clicked in from renzze’s website. 😉

I go find food now..haha so hungry

Hi Kelvin =) Welcome to my blog. Hee

Do try out this jap restaurant. Hope you will like the food! Btw i be adding u to my blogroll. Hope you don’t mind =)

Thanks thanks! I will definitely go try it out! I’m a jap foodie! haha anything that is recommended will be explored! I’ll add you too when I get back to Singapore.

Thanks again June!

You are welcome! =) And thanks for adding me too. Have a good week ahead!

Leave a Reply

Pages

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 137,421 hits
Feisty Char needs bullets to fight! Photobucket Powered by BannerFans.com                                            
