Ahjune’s Weblog

My Guangzhou Trip – Day 4

Posted on: January 22, 2009

This morning the 3 of us (me, my 4th aunt & Haolin) got ready first so we decide to explore around the area near our hotel before breakfast.

img_8897a

img_8894a

And we were in for a surprise when we discover a lane opposite our hotel (just cross the road from “Da Jia Le”) selling hair accessories & scarves! =) And i was very happy cause they are selling it so cheap here!

Since i’m looking for scarves, good news for me! They are selling for SGD 2 only! =)  As i’ve short hair now, i didn’t go too crazy over the hair accessories but i manage to get some as gifts & some basic stuff for myself =)

page-63

When we are done, we met up with the rest & head to Jun Hao Restaurant (located on level 6 of our hotel) for some dim sum =)

They gave each of us a mini pot for our chinese tea! So cute! =)

page-19

As i’ve read reviews from online forums that the milk tarts from Jun Hao restaurant taste great, we must give it a try & i’m glad we did! =)

It’s really smooth & tasty!

page-26

page-310

The standard of the dim sum here is really not bad! I enjoyed my breakfast =)

Up next – Shang Xia Jiu

img_8915a

The crowd here is pretty scary! Really a lot of people & if you are shopping here, please be careful with your belongings. Even though none of our stuff were stolen, but since we were warned by Qirong so we just be extra careful lor.

Shopping here is not too bad but i only got 1 tunic that day! Hee. I find the shopping more suitable for young people.

img_8907a

But 1 thing i definitely like about Shang Xia Jiu is here! =)

img_8908a

OMG!!! I love it here =)  We all each had our favourite item & was happily ordering our food!!

page-9

‘Zhi Ma Hu”!! Oh my… This is really good!! =)  And all freshly made on the spot.

page-10

I got cravings for noodles so i was very happy to see many stalls here =)

page-111

page-121

page-131

And the eating continue…. =)  It was a great afternoon with good food & great company!

And we end it with something unique!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

page-141

Fried scorpion! Me, Lester & his sister each took one =)  But it’s the small ones lah & very crispy lor. Hee

Everyone around us was giving the “Eeeeeeeeeee” look! Haha

Anyway after shopping, we stop @ Mac for a drink.

img_8918a

One of the candid shot that i took! Haha. Actually i wanted to take just his back view but he suddenly turn when i was taking the picture =)

img_8920a

We also saw this cute baby girl who was sitting with her mummy. I noticed most babys in China are very chubby & they looked so cute in their winter wear =)

By the way, it was another dinner treat by Yingyi’s parents! My 4th aunt wanted to treat them but end up they paid faster. Hee

We had really yummy vegetarian food @ this restaurant that’s located in a temple. But no pictures this time!

After dinner, must walk around to digest so off we went to Beijing Road to shop some more. I sort of did some last minute shopping too. Actually we discover some new places to shop but too bad, it’s our last night @ Guangzhou ={  But we will be back!! Hee

img_8926a 

After i tried the egg tarts from Taiwan KFC, i can’t forget it =)  Maybe it’s the cold weather that makes it extra enjoyable.

I remember walking passed the KFC @ Beijing Road & Xin Lian was asking if i want some & i say “No…. Maybe later”. End up when they were looking @ sports stuff, i couldn’t resist the temptation & walked over to buy 1/2 a dozen & i ate 2 by myself =)

Anyway we really shop till the shops were closing & when we were back to the hotel, it’s time to pack our luggage!

page-151

Well that my cousin Haolin who’s “showing off’ his new buys to me! Haha.

But i must say he looked really good in both the jacket & hat!

And when you got too much to pack, you will become like this!!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

img_8927

He was just posing for my camera! Hee.

I’m not going to update on the last day of the trip as we left rather early to the airport so it’s just last minute shopping for everyone around our hotel.

But overall it was a good trip & i hope next time can go during summer months so can get more suitable clothes to wear for Singapore weather =)

Want to thanks Qirong & Yingyi for being such a good hosts cum tour guide.

Also to those who treated us to dinner esp to Yingyi’s parents who make an effort to entertain us every night.

To my 4th aunt, thanks for always asking me along for overseas trip + Big Thank You to everyone who take cares , shares yummy food & tolerate my “Siao Cha Bo” pattern lah! Haha

And lastly………..

img_9045a

CNY is coming!!! =)

6 Responses to "My Guangzhou Trip – Day 4"

Hi June,

I like the “lane photos”. When I look at them, I immediately tot of using photoscape to edit the colour contrast and hue to achieve the so called lomography effect. Haha…

Oh how does the scorpion taste like? Nutty, crunchy? I only ate mealworm larva in a lollipop long time ago and it tasted nutty. I feel like eating tang yuan after looking at your zhi ma hu.

Looks like you really enjoyed yourself in Guangzhou. Please post photos of your buys esp the Anna Sui dress. I’ve got an affinity for Anna Sui even though I dun own many of their products.

Cheers!

Hi Jolene,
Talking about the scorpion, it’s just crunchy lah! =) But OMG…. You tried mealworm lava before??? ={ For me, i won’t try any kinds of worms cause i hate it!! Haha. My cousin’s bf wanted to try the fried silk worms before we leave Shang xia Jiu but he forgot lah.

As for the Anna Sui dress, most prob i will take a picture during CNY & will show it in my CNY posts lah =) So be patient ok. Hee

How’s your preparations for CNY??? =)

Yup the larva wasnt too bad. There was a period of time in sec sch when mealworm larva beetles in the lollipop was quite popular. It was meant as a sabo thingy for my sis’s birthday from her frenz and she told me it tasted like nut so i tried. I dun think I’ll dare eat those with many legs. Heh…

Do wear your anna sui dress and take a pic!

Eeeeeeee…. OMG!! My hair is standing liao!! Haha

I will most prob wear the dress on the 6th day of the lunar new year so u got to wait ok =)

Happy New Year to you and your family!

Thanks Jackson!! Same to u & huat ah!!! =)

Leave a Reply

Pages

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 137,797 hits
Feisty Char needs bullets to fight! Photobucket Powered by BannerFans.com                                            
